Artist/Healer Judith Z. Miller on “LIVE IT UP” TV SHOW – And – Audience with a Holy Man in Thailand Leads to Transformation

Donna Drake, is an international award winning creative artist, writer, producer, actress, voice-over talent, and the Creator and Executive Producer/Host of her new television show “Live it Up!” with Donna Drake. The show features stories, tips and resources filled with positive messages of hope, motivation, and inspiration to empower others.

Donna interviewed me, Judith Z. Miller, the author of “Artist Soul Speaks” in this segment about my primal wearable art and sculpture.

I met Donna via the British Airways Face of Opportunity Contest – she and I were both winners. The amazing contest “prize” was a round-trip to anywhere we wanted to go in the world! And, along with the First Class flight to London and a ticket to our final destination, British Airways wined and dined all the contestants in New York and London, where we attended business seminars presented by top entrepreneurial consultants.

My interview with Donna took place before I went to Thailand to see the work of other artists who also use organic materials, and to have a private audience with Mr. Yord, a renowned Buddhist Shaman who consults with heads of State.

I traveled from Bangkok to Chiang Mai with the help of my new friend Narong and his wife to Mr. Yord’s sanctuary filled with beautiful golden sculptures.

A portion of Mr. Yord’s santuary

I decided to go to  Thailand, to traveled half-way around the world to find out if what I was experiencing as “healing powers” in my hands and when I used my treebranch shakers, was in fact real – and if I should pursue healing work. I felt both trepidation and excitement about both the possible “yes” or “no” answer.

Judith Z. Miller with Mr. Yord

Mr. Yord spoke with me at length, generously giving me well over an hour of his time in a private audience with only my interpreter, Narong, and his wife present.  We sat facing each other in intimate conversation. We spoke intimately, talking about my life, my artwork, and my spiritual practice. He asked inquired about my birth date and examined and meditated upon my tree branch shakers.

Mr. Yord meditating on my shaker

After his evaluation, Mr. Yord spoke to me with great assurance and certainty. We sat looking into each others’ eyes as he informed me that healing work was my life work – my destiny. I questioned him several times, asking if he was sure – if he could feel from my presence that this was the right choice for me. He repeated several times that it was.

Mr. Yord inscribed an ancient Thai prayer on my shaker

Then Mr. Yord performed a ritual blessing, repeating prayers in Thai and blessing me with water.  He tied a colored string around my wrist and wrote ancient Thai prayers on the shakers.  He gave me sacred amulets representing the arts and healing.

I left of our meeting thrilled – and stunned. Humbled – and emboldened to begin my new life work – my healing work.

About artistsoulspeaks

Judith Z. Miller, aka "Zelda," lives in an erotic, musical, spiritual universe; she writes as a way of coping with its beauty, sensuality, frustrations and ecstasies. In NYC, she has read at events sponsored by organizations such as Nehirim, Zeek Magazine, Essentuality, and at venues such as Blue Stockings, The Jewish Community Center, Wow Café Theatre - and late at night to her girlfriends in bed. She published in Inside Arts magazine, The Washington Post, and American Theatre magazine. Judith was trained as an actress in Washington DC, co-founded The Fine Line Actors Theatre, acted in numerous productions, created original performance material and was awarded an NEA Arts Management Fellowship in Theatre. Judith is a self-trained visual artist who is inspired by the beauty of nature and the guiding force of her intuition. She draws and creates primal sculpture and wearable art from trees, stones and found objects, which she fashions into ritual staffs, wearable amulets, and employs in healing rituals. She was profiled in The Daily News; the subject of feature articles in Mann About Town magazine, Home News Tribune, In Brooklyn, The Park Slope Paper, The Wave, and The Daily Sitka Sentinel, and featured on NY-1 Television. In 2008 her paper “Sometimes a Tree Isn’t Just a Tree,” was read at the First International LSP-and Translation Studies Oriented Textual Analysis conference at Chouaib Doukkali University, El Jadida, Morocco. Judith was the founder and director of ZAMO! representing a multi-cultural mix of world-class GRAMMY® nominated and JUNO ® award-winning performing artists for over 20 years. She taught self-promotion for performers, presented by organizations such as The Field, The Red Tent Women’s Project and the Brooklyn Arts Counsel. She was the Chief Rhythm officer of Microfundo, a crowdfunding platform supporting musicians worldwide. She was a 2011 British Airways Face-to-Face Opportunity contest winner traveling to Thailand where she met with indigenous woodcarvers and shaman. A healing ritual artist, she created Zelda's Body Breathing Healing System (TM), and offers private sessions and workshops. Judith (Zelda) resides in Port Henry New York.
This entry was posted in Animals, Handmade Crafts, Judith Z. Miller in the Media, Personal Achievement, Visual Art, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

